Historic District Commission

Mission Statement

The Historic District Commission was established by ordinance under C.G.S. 7-147a-k, the Commission’s statutory charge includes providing information to property owners and others involving the preservation of the Historic District, suggesting pertinent local legislation concerning the District, initiating planning and zoning proposals, commenting on all applications for zoning variances and special exceptions where they affect the District, and consulting with other organizations interested in historic presentation. 

Historic District Regulations

Certificate of Appropriateness Application

Contact Information

Mailing :
Historic District Commission
P.O. Box 514
Sherman, Connecticut 06784

Phone: 860-354-8543

e-mail: john.taylor464@yahoo.com

Historic District Commission Members

John Taylor, Commission Chairperson
Jim French, Vice Chairperson
Betsy Scholze, Commissioner
Joel Bruzinski, Commissioner
Cybthia Osborne, Alternate
Robert Boone, Alternate
Marilyn Dwyer, Alternate

Description of Services

The Commission acts on applications for exterior changes to structures within the Historic District.

Meetings are held on the second Monday of alternating months, beginning with February) at 8:00 PM at Mallory Town Hall.